Using Soften Edges for Solids

I am an Architect by trade but enjoying SU Pro 2017 and my home 3D printer for a year now just playing around making solids and exporting to STL and printing. I have enjoyed making animals which require smooth and fluid shapes. I was wondering if anyone has played with the “Soften Edges” feature of Sketchup and if you have been able to determine if it makes a difference in a 3D model when it is printed? I ask because some of my models still seem to come out segmented on the smooth curves even when I think I have increase the number of segments. I wonder what I have to do to make them smoother. Appreciate any help.

Soften Edges is a display thing. It doesn’t actually change the angle between faces which causes the faceted surfaces you are seeing.

Reducing the number of segments would make the facets larger. It won’t make the curved surfaces smoother. To make them smoother, you need to increase the number of segments to make the facets smaller.

1 Like

Thanks for the quick response DaveR

1 Like

Increase the segments - that is what I meant. Thanks.

If you increased the number of segments and you’re still getting the facets, you might be able to increase them more. There are limits and because SketchUp always represents curved surfaces with a collection of flat faces, you’ll never get away from it entirely. maybe a bit of sandpaper is the answer.

Video on soft vs smooth

As @DaveR said, though, it is only for display in SketchUp. When you export a .STL file for printing, you will get the surfaces as they exist without any smoothing (or smoothening).

1 Like

I also just discovered the extension Soap Skin and Bubbles and was wondering if that will help my curved faces be smoother. Has anyone experimented or had success with that? It is really cool.