Unable to make a shape solid

Hey SU Community,

This is my first ever post and I’m quite new to SU. However, I started off with a very complicated project. I wanted to my make a detailed Sketch of my entire house, which I want to 3D-print down the line.

My problem is that I cannot seem to make it solid. There are a lot of elements that could complicate things. I’ve tried using ‘Solid Inspector 2’ to help, but without success. Yes, I have tried to make it a singular group and exploded all my components, but I still get the ‘unknown size’ etc.

I would be grateful for any kind of help. Thanks in advance;)House Sketch For Community by CHRoOMAX.skp (1.8 MB)

You’re on the right track by using Solid Inspector2, but your model has quite a few problems needing fixed. Some of them are caused by not being careful enough to align your lines on the axes so you have non-planar edges that SketchUp won’t form a face with. You may need to re-draw some of these. You have a bargeboard that tapers up to a point at the top. You have different sized bricks on the window cills that look like they’ve been scaled with the windows (not that these would stop it being solid).

Are you going to print the house as one huge lump of plastic the whole volume of the house? That will cost a lot more if you’re getting someone to print it who charges by volume of plastic.
Or are you going to have it hollow with a wall thickness? If so, your walls, floors and roofs have zero thickness, so you’d need to give them some thickness.

Go through it slowly with SolidInspector, click the problem type then ‘tab’ to cycle through them. You may be better going back to your unexploded model and fixing it there when it’s off-axis lines that are the problem, to make it easier to edit in the future.

I want it to be completely solid on the inside. Right now, it’s basically 1:1 scaling to real life so obviously, that would be ridiculous. No, I want to print it in about a 1:50 scaling.