Sketchup tips list

Hello!

I’ve started my own quick tips list, FWIW. I’m still learning about these things (working with components, section plane, smooth/soften with the eraser, follow me, offset, outer shell, finding gaps in models), so if anyone has any tips on those to share, I’d appreciate it.
Regards, leaning.

Sketchup Tips (using Sketchup 2016):

⦁ a) Origin: Select item, then Move Tool, then type [0,0,0] (This moves the item to the origin.)
⦁ b) Coordinates: Use Text (not 3D Text) tool, click on item endpoint, and it will display the endpoint’s XYZ coordinates.
⦁ c) Scale: select the item, then Tools>Scale, and type 10 (for scaling up by a factor of 10). To scale back down, you would select, scale, type 0.1 which will take you back to the original size.
⦁ d) Toolbars: View> Toolbars. Check them all except Drawing, Getting Started, Edit, and Principal. (The Large Toolset and the Warehouse Toolbar takes the place of all these).
⦁ e) Toolbar icons: Change their size via Window>Preferences>Workspace>Use large tool buttons.
⦁ f) Large Toolset: Cannot be moved to the top with all the other toolbars. It also cannot be changed from vertical (up and down) to horizontal (across)
⦁ g) Select Tool: Single click selects the face or edge, double-click a face selects the face and all its bounding edges, or the edge and its connected face. Triple-click selects all the connected entities. For example, if you triple-click a face in a cube, the entire cube is selected.
⦁ h) Click + CTRL: Adds to selection. Click+CTRL+SHIFT: Removes from selection. Click +SHIFT: Selects an unselected entity or deselect a selected entity.
⦁ i) Axis: View>Axis: turns on and off the XYZ axis.
⦁ j) Window>Default Tray>Styles: Edit>Edge. Check Endpoints and set to 10 for big endpoints that are easy to see.
⦁ k) Window>Default Tray>Styles: Edit>Edge. Color>By Axis: gives your model’s edges that are on the XYZ axis the green,red, and blue colors.