Sketchup plus Vray

I am looking at purchasing Mac Pro 3.0GHZ 25MB with the Dual AMD FirePro D700 graphics processor with 6GB of GDDR5 VRAM. I am a product designer with a graphics background and was brought up on a SE30 25 years ago and never touched a PC. Can someone please give me their advice that this is the best option over than jumping ship. Which I am very nervous in doing so. Ive always woke with Macs so I’m a bit stuck in my ways…
You advice would be greatly appreciated. Kindest regards.

From ChaosGroup help site for Vray for SU:
GPU OpenCL render mode is currently not supported. GPU CUDA is available only for Fermi-, Kepler-, Maxwell- and Pascal- based NVIDIA cards.
https://docs.chaosgroup.com/display/VRAYSKETCHUP/Frequently+Asked+Questions

So doing FirePro won’t give you GPU rendering, you will have only CPU rendering.
The only way for CUDA for you would be buying external GPU+encolsure like in this article:

1 Like

Thankyou for that, this is sounding expensive. Certainly now a rethink for what I had in mind, buma. Ill contact them and find out what pricing I’d be looking at would be looking at. Thanks again for your insight.

1 Like

Okay forgive me, but I’m a creative so lack the technical genius yourself posses. But I’ll put it out there, and now a complete rethink to the solution I’m after. My specific task is for product design within the medical industry for persons with various forms of handicaps (such as myself).
What is the best combined solution using Sketchup and Vray, Macintosh based using the Sonnet’s Thunderbolt 3-interfaced eGFX Breakaway Box to use Nvidia graphics cards. I’m now thinking laptop based for show and tell. I’ve learnt more within the past couple of hours thanks to this four. I very appreciative.

Hi,