Ditching iMac for PC for SU Pro 2018 and V-Ray. Help Please

Hi there Community! Duncan here,

I am a set designer in the film industry and I am see the hand writing on the wall with Apple’s commitment/support to the 3D software industry or lack there of. I am asking for suggestions as to what to buy to assemble a non-apple PC: motherboard, and graphics cards, ram, etc… My work flow is: Design in sketchUp, plan, elevations and details in LayOut; Pre-visualization illustrations of the set models rendered in V-Ray.

Thank you to all of you who make this forum such a rich treasure trove.

Sincerely,

Duncan

Hardware aside, would you consider moving away from Vray to a faster GPU based alternative?

don’t assemble w/ the risk of incompatibilities and nobody to complain at but buy something decent from e.g. the big three (HP, Lenovo, Dell) and upgrade parts if required as e.g. the graphics card or working memory or the PSU only:

• CPU: high-clocked i5/i7 (no AMD Ryzen besides for rendering plugs/apps)
• GPU: nVidia GeForce GTX 1060 (or higher; V-RAM depending on screen res.)
• RAM: 16 GB (or higher; no AMD Radeon, no CAD series)
• System Media: SSD (e.g. capable Samsung Evo/Pro series)

and you’re fine.

1 Like

For hard drive go to PCIe M.2 SSD based unit. SATA 3.0 is limited to ~600 MB/s while read while a M.2 can read up to 2,500 MB/s. Prices are coming down as well. Amazon currently has a WD 500GB NVMe PCIe Gen 3 for $170 (1,000 GB MB/s model). Not a super fast one but faster than a SATA unit.

Yes I would. All i am interested in is servicing the PD/AD/AAD. Please I am eager to hear all suggestions.
Thank you!

Thank You! Yes, My plan is to build with an expert so that I can be supported if anything hiccups.

D

Thanks Sean, I’ll check it out!

D