Sketchup and genealogy

I am a really huge fan of Sketchup. I like drawing buildings, or furniture.

I am also an amateur genealogy researcher.

The software I currently found available on the internet, I cannot really use to look at my family tree and see all the people in it at the same time.

I was wondering if there is some kind of Sketchup plugin or something, that would help me simulate a genealogical tree inside Sketchup. It is really nice the way you can orbit around a building in Sketchup, and something like that would be awesome if you could do with a tree. Pretty much all the applications that I have found, have issues with the width of the tree (I have 300 people), you can not really show that in a “2d” page (check out the printed tree in the comments section here). I think in 3d, this would not be an issue.

Thank you

P.S. I am not sure what category to select for this topic.

The elements of a geneology tree are inherently 2D. I really don’t think it would map well onto a 3D structure. A family tree is a form of diagram, largely a symbolic representation, whereas SU’s talent is modeling actual objects.

Have you really visualized what a 3D family tree would look like? Would the boxes be cubes? Which way would the writing face? Will the tree branch in all directions? You’re going to have to reinvent the entire set of rules for laying out the tree without anyone else’s examples to go by.

Remember, too, that SU does not really draw graphic lines. SU has edges, which serve as boundaries for 3D shapes; there’s no such thing as lines in space.

To me, it sounds like an ill-considered idea. I think you’d be much happier and more successful using specialized genealogy software.

-Gully

How would it look like?
Like a tree

Boxes or cubes?
I was thinking spheres for example, different color per gender

Which way would be writing face?