Question about v-ray materials

I have a questions about V-ray materials. I am thinking through how to systematize my design workflow if every model I create will eventually go through the rendering process. I have started creating a library of dynamic components for things like doors, windows, cabinets, trim, etc. and I’m wondering if there is a way to have render ready materials in those components so that as I bring them into my model, they are ready to go. I am fairly new to rendering, so I’m not sure if this is the right way to go about it, but appreciate any advice from people with experience. I’m basically hoping to create render ready models as I’m doing the work to create the models for other things, like export to Layout for construction documents @konstantin_chaos

I’m never seen how far I can push this, but a sketchup material file can actually store some of v-ray’s basic parameters about the material.

For example roughness/glossiness and metalness. These are often plenty to give something a better appearence in a render

It can’t however store other texture maps.
(It can store the parameters for v-ray generated textures such as noise, tile, grid, leather.)

If you embed a material with these parameters specified INTO the componet, then you can call the material in the DC and it will travel to other places.

1 Like

Yes you can do this. The diffuse map, or base texture is stored in SketchUp whilst the PBR extras like bump, reflection, opacity, etc are stored outside of SketchUp. The safest approach would be to use V-Ray’s default library of materials - since these are stored in the same place and won’t move and risk breaking the link between the file and V-Ray. If you you use your own custom Render Ready materials, be sure to store them in a location on your drive that is unlikely to change or be edited.

Thanks @eric-s - could the folder be on Dropbox as well or could that cause problems?