Outliner # issue

Hello,
I use sketchup for event design. What we do is we have individual file for every single asset and then we import assets into our main file for placing and arranging.

When I reload asset onto our main file, I notice that there is a # behind the component name in outliner. I am wondering if there is any way to get rid of the “#”?

thanks in advance! I am quite new to sketchup, hope I didn’t get all the naming wrong. But this image should show you what I mean:
Capture|184x36

I presume you mean the hash symbol between the 16 and the 1? Isn’t that the component name that you (or someone) has given it? What happens if you select it and try changing the name to something else?

The #1 indicates this is the second component definition with the same name. To get rid of it you can rename the component in Entity Info. You’ll need to purge the model of the first component with that name however if you want to call this latest instance by the same name.

The same sort of thing happens when an instance of a component is made unique. The new component will get the # and a number appended to it.

Hi! I only named it WALL-16. Every time I reloaded an updated version, the # becomes #1, #2, #3, etc…I think it is showing how many times I have reloaded the object?

It works if I change the name to something else, but I really need to show the name as it is “WALL-16”.

I see! let me give this a try. Thank you!

1 Like

Try purging the file of the previous components called WALL-16. Click on the Details menu button in the Components window.

Screenshot%20-%206_21_2019%20%2C%2012_12_04%20PM

One thing to note is if you have modified WALL-16 in your project file, the definition will be different from the source file. If the first WALL-16 is being used in the model, you won’t be able to purge it. You can’t have different components with the same name so you would need to do something with the naming convention to differentiate between them.