Not sure which computer / graphics card I need for best SketchUp results

Hi all,
I’m a student and recently bought a new computer - MacBook Pro with 32 GB memory and an AMD Radeon Pro 5300M 4 GB Intel UHD Graphics card. I’ve been having some issues when building my models where SketchUp Pro completely shuts down or I get the spinny wheel for far too long. I prefer to use a Mac vs. PC but I’m wondering if I should have gotten a different graphics card. Does anyone have any advice or graphics recommendations for optimal results? Thank you so much!

What’s the Mhz on that model? Sounds like it should work fine and you may be coming up against the general limitations of SketchUp. Shutting down completely doesn’t seem right. How big are the files? Have you tried turning off graphics switching (using only the higher end card)?

Of course there are ways to work that help, starting with turning off shadows when you don’t need them.

The MHz is DDR4. Some files are around 150 MB and over. Do you think that’s causing it to happen?

I haven’t tried turning off shadows etc., but I will. Thank you!

Looks like your macbook does not use the radeon gpu.
Go to System Preferences > Energy Saver
Choose your own path.
DISABLE automatic graphics switching to basically force the 5300M to be used all the time.
ENABLE automatic graphics switching for the OS to handle swapping between Intel and 5300M as needed. This yields the best battery life.

All of the cards for your Mac are AMD and the performance difference isn’t that big to make a difference. Chances are you are modeling something that is too complex for your powerful machine. I also have a MBP and don’t have any slowdown issues so I’m pretty confident you’re modeling in a way that would make any machine struggle.

AFAIK your ultracool new Macbook should be able to handle quite challenging SketchUp models. I don’t use a Mac so my suggestions are sort of general.

• Are you using plugins? - some of them might be causing the issues