New Member General Advice - Distribution/Warehousing Modeling **Model Shared**

Hi all,

As the title states, I am new to the forums and SketchUp as a professional. I am very excited to be able to utilize all the tools within SketchUp and also this community here. I’ve been working in SketchUp as an amateur for 3 years and professional only recently for a few months but plan to be an expert going forward.

This will be long-winded and if I have done anything wrong please point me to the right direction. I’ve searched throughout the forums for “warehousing” but unfortunately that directs to the 3d warehouse haha. Also "distribution,logistics,large buildings,"etc…

I’m an engineer in supply chain logistics and more importantly the customer facing side of it. This means what I do is mostly conceptual(so it doesn’t have to be exact! :slight_smile:) as I support the selling of our services/warehouses.

I’ve tried to attach the file/3d warehouse upload but I got an error in the warehouse. but this is a distribution center I’ve been working and I am wondering if any of you have any tips when working on models this size.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0BwDNVxaOa5DJYWNCczJEMndEdTQ

Main concerns.

1. Pallet Racking - storing of product - Now I have a hidden layer called “PalletRack” that when I unhide it it SLOOOOOWS down my PC. I have kept those as LOW POLY as possible, but it seems that much stuff in one area just isn’t easy to process. If I ever want to move or rearrange this stuff, it takes ages.Any ideas to handle that?

2. Components/Overall organization - I’ve done some reading on how to keep good processing within SketchUp, and I’ve tried to ungroup everything within an component then simply try and place that component. Is this best practice?

3. Any other tips welcome!!!

Thanks for any and all the help.