New Guy Here. Can't figure out: Beveling? UV's?

Hello, everyone.
I’m new to SketchUp and I’m from the world of Zbrush and Blender.
Sketchup is really fun and fasts that’s the reason I’m considering it, but I I can’t seem to find intuitive tools for beveling, and I hadn’t seen a UV editor.

Are you all just leaving your models with harsh edges and skipping UV layout for texturing?

You can use native Follow Me tool, or a plugin like Fredo’s Corner or Round Corner ( which can bevel as well as round).

To allow positioning of textures, apply texture to faces, not components or groups as a whole

1 Like

I will add beveling when it makes sense for the model. It usually doesn’t for the modeling I do. I did on this model, however, so I’d get highlights on the edges of the shoulders on the handles as well as on the threaded clamp block.

As John suggests Fredo’s Round Corner and Fredocorner are helpful for this although it can also be done in a variety of ways with native tools.

2 Likes

Okay, I have to figure out how to use “Follow Me” for BEVELS…

I’ll stay native until I figure things out.

How in the world did you put that threading on the handle? :scream:

Man, you can create really incredible details in Sketchup. Wow.

What happens when you wanna add further details to sell realism into the metallic textures?

Such as fingerprints, paint chips, dirt, etc.

Any UV options available?

My end goal is always to create an object that’s low resolution with clean UVs for a PBR workflow.

Yeah, UV’s not so much. Sketchup doesnt really do UV’s, if you are on a Windows machine, you can do excellent unwraps with WrapR but the native UV stuff is basic/ non-existent to say the least but I think/hope the Sketchup Team are on it. :crossed_fingers: