New developer guidance - GUI extension

Hello,
I’m new to developing Sketchup and come from a c# background. I am looking for general guidance or advice about developing my first SketchUp plugin / extension with a GUI interface.

My questions are:

1. Are there any XMAL methodologies for creating a SketchUp GUI - for example do people use the XAML tools provided by UWP methodologies or are other methodologies better -

2. Before I begin my work are there methodologies useful for developing cross platform (Mac / Windows) SketchUp plugins that I should know about or consider leveraging?

3. I’m assuming that it’s still best to use Visual Studio but if there are other IDE that people recommend please feel free to mention them.

Appreciate all thoughts and recommendations - thanks in advance.

Sincerely,

One important question: your forum profile says you are using SketchUp Free. Are you aware that Free cannot run extensions? If you actually have Pro, please update your profile.

Slbaumgartner,
Thank you for the suggestion - updated.

Generally, SketchUp extensions are coded either in Ruby atop the built-in SketchUp Ruby extension API and runtime interpreter, or in C/C++ with hooks into the Ruby API for cases when Ruby is too slow at bulk data operations. There is a C SDK, but it is mainly for creating standalone apps to manipulate SketchUp files, or importers and exporters for file types that are not supported by SketchUp natively. It does not provide separate GUI capabilities. See https://developer.sketchup.com for more information.

If an extension has a GUI, it is normally built using objects from the UI module of the Ruby API. It provides several basic dialogs and a more flexible HtmlDialog class. There is an event-driven protocol called “Tool” that handles most user event interaction with an extension and also allows drawing to the model view window without affecting the SketchUp model itself.