C extensions for Mac and Windows and RBE versions of sketchup

I’m interested in determining the lowest common denominator for creating c/c++ extension for Sketchup.

Windows first:
Can I use VS 2015 and properly create extensions for SU 2016, 2017 and 2018? I would like to compile it without the need of additional external libraries. So I would be linking at compile time (a bit larger - but hopefully simpler). I’m guessing that I should create a 32 bit and a 64 bit version for SU 2016. I would need another version for SU 2017. Question is will that also work for 2018 or do I need to build a different version? I have lots of experience with C/C++ but have gone down the Borland / Embarcadero path. I have used Microsoft CE compilers but that goes back a lot of years.

Mac OSX
Which xcode compiler would I need to support the Mac versions of SU 2016, 2017 and 2018. I’m guessing that I would need to provide 3 compiled versions since SU has dropped older OS support for each of these releases. I have no experience with xcode compiler. Also - I do not have any Mac devices. Is there a way to compile the code without having to have a device and not having to register with Apple (I don’t want to get involved with the Apple store)

has a cross compiler for mac and so does VS 2015 according to the web …

with Xcode:

I have compiled C/C++, ObjC, Swift as ‘Command Line Tool’ bin scripts for use is SU, and call them using Ruby’s #system variants…

Similar method to this link

I have also compiled the Ruby C extension samples as ‘.plugin’ files, but they are harder to include in an extension…

@jiminybillybob may have some insight, I think he uses Xcode on a HacIntosh…

john

Did someone try cross-compiling? (Isn’t that for exactly that purpose, so SketchUp should make developers lifes easier and support it.)