Need advice for CAD style 2D

OK, forgive me for my sins (potentially wrong category, not having a clue what my graphic card thinger number is, and a host of other mortal sins). I am new… newer than new. I don’t know anything about Sketchup or any other modeling or CAD type of app. That is why I am here. I am going from one list of apps to another, trying to get what I need. So, from what I am gathering, coming to Sketchup is another dead end for me. I will explain and I would be very grateful for some advice so I can stop this ghost chasing and get somewhere.

I need a program that can produce the same file formats used by Auto-CAD, DWG DXF.

I am an artist and I am going to be making some sheet metal work. But until I am set up, and for cost savings at times, it is essential that I can have some stuff cut by fabrication shops that use waterjet or laser to cut clean pieces. Those shops use the file formats I mentioned above. So I need to draw out my design in something that can work with those formats.

So, I found a site that listed a bunch of free alternatives to autocad here: http://blog.cometdocs.com/10-great-free-alternatives-to-autocad

But the pieces are just millimeters thick and are better seen as 2D for my purposes. So I need a drawing app that can save as a DXF etc. I had seen the mention of SketchUp and the layout portion seemed appropriate until I got here and see that it isn’t what i need, is vastly beyond what I need and i can’t get it without the pro version anyway.

Can anyone tell me what app to get? I downloaded Blender but I couldn’t find a way to just do a 2D drawing…

thanks for your help

If none of the free CAD packages work for you, I suggest going to the Autodesk’s “AutoSketch”. This is a simple CAD program, easy to learn and will work great for preparing drawings and patterns for lasercutting. I do it all the time for model railroad buildings. Hope this helps.