My First Extension

Hey all,

I’m new to these forums so if this post is in the wrong place or unrelated, let me know.

Anyway, I’ve been using SketchUp for a couple months now and I wanted to try my hand at writing an extension so I wrote an extension that provides “X-ray” copies of selected groups and adds them to a new layer called “Individual_Xray.”

If you want to check it out, here’s the link: GitHub - rkildare/Indiv_Xray: Sketchup addon for creating "Xray" copies of individual groups.

Thanks.

1 Like

Unfortunately this is not an extension rather Snippets.
It is violating one of the main rules (beside many others…):
“Safely namespace your extension to insulate it from other extensions.”

I would recommend to read e.g. this:
https://developer.sketchup.com/hello-cube

You can also use for example the template for extension from Dan:

1 Like

Ruby uses 2 space indentation. (Please adjust your editor to replace tabs with 2 spaces.)

Dezmo is correct. Only Ruby core (and very limited API) global methods should be defined in the toplevel ObjectSpace. Since everything in Ruby is an object and therefore a descendant of class Object, your toplevel methods will get inherited by EVERY other class and module.

String comparison in Ruby is relatively slow. This means you should avoid the API’s #typename method for comparions and instead use class comparisons …

if obj.is_a?(SketchUp::Face)
  # do something
else
  # do some other thing
end

… OR …

case obj
when Sketchup::Face
  # do something
when Sketchup::Group
  # do something unique
else
  # do some other thing
end

See official examples …

Also, everything should be fully reversable reversible with undo.

Enclose model change code within an undo operation. See …

Components are a little weird in how they should be properly handled. Using this current method for groups on components will not work.