Making a design a solid

I am new to this program. I am a ski smith and am designing ski cores… I am having trouble making me design a solid piece once I make all the proper angles and shapes.

Could you share/upload what you have done so far and people (and/or me) cantake it from there to see if we can help you with the problem. Right now it’s just guessing what you are dealing with.

Here is the skp. file.

Once I create all the radius, tapers, and sidewall angles, Im not sure how
to “fill in” the sidewalls…

any help is greatly appreciated!!
demo sidewall sketch.skp (22.7 KB)

you need closed faces to have a solid. They can be triangles, or everything you want, but your faces has to be in one plane. Make a closed face and if it doesn´t close automatically right click on one of its sidses and chose generate faces.

SketchUp uses flat faces. Even an appearing smooth curved surface consists of facets of flat faces.

Some setting(s) that might help in creating the facetted surface.

• In menu Window > Styles > Edit > Edge Settings (first icon) > set endpoints to say 3 or more, to make them visible.
    (- Also disable profiles, ugly thick lines)
    Create a scene to save this setting.

Select the lower long arc in your model and right click on it and select ‘Explode’ in the context menu.
Now you’ll see all the endpoints of all edges that need to be the boundary of your “surface”.
Start connecting coresponding endpoints from both sides with the ‘Line’ tool (stitching the surface).
You so create triangles (flat) and some rectangles (also flat). The drawn edges can then be made smooth / softened with the ‘Eraser’ tool while holding down [Ctrl].

p.s. to make the object a SketchUp Solid you’ll need to group it.

Thanks…

I guess creating a bunch of triangles on the sides to accommodate the curve
would be best???

Is there a trick to avoiding unnecessary lines?

here is what i came up with…

Thanks!!!
demo sidewall sketch.2.skp (56 KB)

Way too many triangles.