Laser Cutting curved surface

Hi! I’m pretty new to Sketchup, a teacher at our school gave us a house model from SketchUp and we have to take it by laser cutting, I was separating the pieces manually but I have a problem with the curved facade since I have no idea of how to make the surface a ¨plane¨ that I can then take to AutoCad to laser cut. Any help will be very appreciated, thanks in advance!
Ultimo2 (1).skp (1.5 MB)

rhino p2.skp (1.6 MB)
Here is the facade separated

Personally I would get the length of the curve by selecting it and reading it from entity info, and the height the same way, then you have the dimensions of a rectangle.
Draw the rectangle and array the ‘diamonds’ on it.

1 Like

Melnikov house?

I do paper volumes art. and I use SU to unfold stuff.
Box’s solution is good here since it’s a cylinder, and unfolding your model would give you a prism.
However, my solution can work in general, cylinders or other shapes.

In the extension warehouse, on the main page, there is an extension named unwrap and flatten faces.

So, let’s take a look at your file. First, isolate the shape you want to laser cut.
Then, if it’s symetrical, or if it repeats (pattern), isolate one part of it. After all, if it repeats, no need to treat it all.

Here, I only kept half of it. Technically I could have kept half of this half, but eh, past me was lazy.

I’ve turned on its back.

I tried the plugin at this point, but it had difficulties with some super thin parts.

these things have to go. You can see it in the model, they have been manually smoothed, it’s simply the rythm of the windows not falling perfectly in line with the faces of the cylinder. As you plan on laser cutting it, then rolling it, and it’s a model, you can cheat. I’m talking 3mm in real scale, so in your model, it’ll be… the kerf of your laser.