Impoprt & Work on 3D Photogrammetry Models

Hi,

I work in the heritage sector as a historic building surveyor. For some time now I have been creating 3D photogrammetry models of existing buildings. Now though I would like to import the models, which can be exported as 3DS, OBJ and a plethora of other file types, to Sketchup.

From there I would like to draw on extensions to the buildings, or annotate repairs etc. Here is an example of a model hosted on Sketchfab: Blease Hall, Oxenholme - 3D model by Rupert Hilton (@ruehilton) [881087b] - Sketchfab

Firstly, is this even possible, as iā€™ve been struggling so far and am new to Sketchup. Maybe I need to be looking at another programme?

Thanks,

Rupert

1 Like

Hi
I also create photogrammetry models (and other data) from terrestrial and aerial surveys of historic buildings as a building designer (via Pix4D). SketchUp is not suited (nor designed) to handle large poly models such as these types of software create, you would need a traditional modeller for that (c4D, 3DS, Modo etc). Also the mesh topography is not ideal.

However, I obviously use SU as my primary design tool and Pix4D as part of the workflow. I use my surveys and outputs from Pix4D as follows.

Orthomosiac as an accurate site and footprint plan, which I import into SU and trace to create the site footprint and boundaries.
Generate a mesh from the survey point-cloud (terrestrial and aerial) for my own use in terms of measurement and reference.
Generate contours from the DTM to bring into SU TIN.

I would have done a traditional survey alongside the aerial surveys and built My SU model from that.
For particular architectural details or intricate sections that I need to record, highlight and detail I use a Structure Sensor to capture the detail in 3D, which I do bring into SU and create an SU model using the imported mesh as a reference object, its managable at that scale but once if created my model I get rid of the reference. (see attachment)