I'm a beginner, my button doesn't work

I’m a beginner, I’m studying

I wanted to make a button to change to mm and another to cm, but I couldn’t, it changes, but then I can’t change to another one later.

toolbar = UI::Toolbar.new “teste”
cmd = UI::Command.new(“MM”) {
Sketchup.active_model.options[“UnitsOptions”][“LengthFormat”]=0
Sketchup.active_model.options[“UnitsOptions”][“LengthUnit”]=2
}
cmd.tooltip = “MM”
cmd.status_bar_text = “mm”
cmd.set_validation_proc {
if Sketchup.active_model.options[“UnitsOptions”][“LengthUnit”]=2
MF_CHECKED
else
MF_UNCHECKED
end
}
cmd.small_icon = “16.png”
cmd.large_icon = “24.png”
toolbar = toolbar.add_item cmd
toolbar.show
puts cmd.large_icon

This looks like a SketchUp bug. @colin , could you log this?

Cabarsa, in the meantime you can change formatting of the post so the code can be run. Start the code section with triple backticks and the language name (```ruby) a end it with triple backticks.

Here is the code with the smart quotes replaced. I also switched two lines, showing the toolbar before adding the cmd object gives you a button that works. I’m not sure what the button does, to know if it’s working, but the help tip and toggle of the button does work.

toolbar = UI::Toolbar.new "teste"
cmd = UI::Command.new("MM") {
Sketchup.active_model.options["UnitsOptions"]["LengthFormat"]=0
Sketchup.active_model.options["UnitsOptions"]["LengthUnit"]=2
}
cmd.tooltip = "MM"
cmd.status_bar_text = "mm"
cmd.set_validation_proc {
if Sketchup.active_model.options["UnitsOptions"]["LengthUnit"]=2
MF_CHECKED
else
MF_UNCHECKED
end
}
cmd.small_icon = "16.png"
cmd.large_icon = "24.png"
toolbar.show
toolbar = toolbar.add_item cmd
puts cmd.large_icon
1 Like

It changes the model units to decimal mm. You have to close and reopen the Model Info panel to see the change. I might have expected the panel to update on the change, but it does not.

Of course, the images are not present, so the button displays the missing image icon.