HTMLDialog::show_modal content is blank when within HTTP::Request block

I’m pretty new to Ruby and Sketchup, so hopefully this is just something I’m messing up.

If I make a HTTP::Request and then on success show a HTMLDialog, the content is blank when using show_modal, but show works fine. Any idea what I’m doing wrong?

def self.test_func
        request = Sketchup::Http::Request.new('http://sketchup.com', Sketchup::Http::GET)
        request.start do |request, response|
          puts response.status_code

options = {
            :dialog_title => 'Test',
            :width => 500,
            :height => 400,
            :style => UI::HtmlDialog::STYLE_DIALOG
          }
          dialog = UI::HtmlDialog.new(options)
          dialog.set_url('http://google.com')
          dialog.center
          dialog.show_modal
        end
      end

show_modal pauses the execution of the code until it is closed. You can add a puts statement after show_modal and it wont be printed until the dialog is closed. I’m not sure though how this affects set_url.

@tom10

Try the following:

# test_func
# test_func modal: true
def self.test_func(modal: false)
  Sketchup::Http::Request.new('http://sketchup.com', Sketchup::Http::GET)
    .start do |req, resp|
      puts "resp.status_code #{resp.status_code}, modal #{modal}"

options = {
        dialog_title: 'Test', width: 500, height: 400,
        style: UI::HtmlDialog::STYLE_DIALOG
      }
      dialog = UI::HtmlDialog.new options
      dialog.set_url 'http://google.com'
      dialog.center
      if modal
        dialog.show_modal
      else
        dialog.show
      end
      answer = UI.messagebox 'In request start', MB_OK
    end
end

First, run it with test_func. Notice that the UI.messagebox appears, but the HtmlDialog is not loaded/rendered yet. Once you close the UI.messagebox, the block and the method call complete, and the HtmlDialog shows google.