How to round the corners of a tabletop in SketchUp using a Ruby script?

How to round the corners of a tabletop in Sketchup using a Ruby script. I saw a youtube clip showing how to do that manually with creating an arc in a tabletop group and using pushpull to remove the excess of the material. Can anybody show me an example how to make it done with Ruby API.

Basically:

The Entities #add_arc method is used to create an arc curve segment.
The Face #pushpull method is used to perform a push/pull on a face.

You may need to do some other steps before, in between, and after so may need to learn the : https://ruby.sketchup.com/index.html :wink:

It’s even better if you’re familiar with Sketchup, first. There are better ways to do a tabletop, beside this video you linked.

Well, I am new to Sketchup but I am a software engineer and I tried some scripting using the API documentation already . It does not work as expected though. Here the tabletop is vertical, but that is not a problem.

model = Sketchup.active_model
entities = model.active_entities
model.start_operation('Create Wall and Arc', true)

width = 50.cm
height = 90.cm
thickness = 2.cm
radius = 2.cm

rect_face = entities.add_face([0, 0, 0], [width, 0, 0], [width, 0, height], [0, 0, height])
rect_face.pushpull(-thickness)

center1 = Geom::Point3d.new(0 + radius, 0, height - radius)
arc = entities.add_arc(center1, X_AXIS.reverse, Y_AXIS, radius, 0.degrees, 90.degrees, 12)

arc_face = entities.add_face(arc)

arc_face.pushpull(-thickness)

model.commit_operation

There are serval problems:

These coordinates not in a same plane.
it should be

[0, 0, 0], [width, 0, 0], [width, height, 0], [0, height, 0]

Again a coordinates are wrong for the centre, first for simplicity, I would define like:
center1 = Geom::Point3d.new(radius, radius, 0)
The normal of the arc also wrong.

The #add_arc method Returns:

an array of Edge objects that define the arc.