How do I save an entity I made to reuse for later?

Hello, I’m very new to sketchup. I created an itemthat I’d like to save with a specific name and be able to retrieve later and use on future projects. I’m having trouble figuring out the best way to save it and make it a retrievable item. How would I go about doing this? I’m on SketchupPro for iPad https://9apps.ooo/.

On iPad, a couple of ways at the moment.

No internet - You can always save it in its own model locally in the iPad and copy/paste out of that model into your new one whenever you need it.

Internet - you can save it in its own model that you publish to Trimble connect and do the same with it, but at that point you might as well just upload a version of the model to your 3D warehouse page and download directly into your model via one of the warehouse buttons.

I would like to say I’m efficient and I do the warehouse thing, but in all honesty I have a couple of locally saved models that I pop in and out of regularly. :grin:

Would you be so kind as to walk me through the steps of saving a model in the IPad… I cant find the button (or know what it looks like) to save :upside_down_face:

Have a look at the section, “Working with SketchUp files”.

Getting Started | SketchUp Help

SketchUp for iPad 34videos by the SU crew.

1 Like

They simply say hit the home screen and it will ask if you would like to save changes. I guess adding scenes doesn’t count as a significant change to prompt that warning? It won’t let me save a simple scene add

I’m sorry that I can’t be of much help on this. Perhaps the info in the scenes panel about adding scenes is what you need?

Scenes Panel | SketchUp Help

1 Like

I’m sure I’ll stumble upon something. Thank you!

@KeeneArchitecture It sounds like you’re looking for this one.