How can I help this model along

Dear All,

First, thank you for your help. Second, I am a complete amateur at SU (five weeks in, and I really like it, except the crashes). Third, I was just adopted by a stray cat.

Anybody want a kitten in 8 or so weeks?

Anyway, I am working on replacing this building with a library:

As part of the project, I am trying to model alternating tread stairs (file attached). I would really like the model to look better. Any suggestions? For example, I am stuck on how to join the rails, stiles and treads in a way that it looks like a welded structure. The end faces, etc. don’t align and my use of solid tools leaves a mess. I know I am close…

Alternating Treads.skp (332.2 KB)

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Regards,

Tom

1 Like

To be honest, this model looks really good! YOu did a great job wit hthe tube intersections and used components for steps! Well done!

Looking specifically at the railings, I tihnk that the way they meet looks really good… not sure exactly what you were hoping to do to make them look better…

Aaron,

Thank you for the complements! I have been learning from your videos the entire time I have been using SU. I am your distant grasshopper.

I guess I was hoping for a more ‘welded’ look. As a hobby metal guy (machinist, crappy welder, not guitar) I would like a more finished look.

Thank you again for the complements.

Regards,

Tom
PS: Your book has been very helpful.

Nice model!

Here are some things you could try:

Your pipes could look smoother with an increased number of circle segments (16 Segments):

(64 Segments):

You could cut your angle from the pipe using Solid Tools → Trim:

This cut pipe used the Offset Tool, then Push-Pull to hollow it out:

Solid Tools Trim

It is less jagged looking because it has more segments.