Hook ruby method in class

Hi,

I am a c++ developer and not quite familiar with ruby stuff. Is there any approach to hook into existing ruby classes and class member functions?

For example, hook into InputPoint and change the behavior of the InputPoint.pick, so I can add some custom function in the pick.

Regards,
Han

First of all, you should not change Core Ruby classes or API classes as this will cause havoc for other extensions.

In Ruby there are refinements that allow a single file or class to change Ruby classes so only the file using the refinement can see the changes.
File: refinements.rdoc [Ruby 2.7.1]

But Ruby is actually implemented in C. And there are ways to call Ruby methods from C/C++.
But I’m not quite sure how Ruby refinements would be done from C.
You should probably read this …

It is a bit old and predates Ruby refinements, but will allow you to understand how to use Ruby from the C side.

As Dan says the Ruby API methods are implented using the Ruby C API, and are closed source. You can’t read these methods and base your own on their code.

What you can do is to check if the changes you want to InputPoint#pick is logged in our Ruby API Issue Tracker, or otherwise add it.

Refinement seems to be the way. But can it be inherited to others? That is I refine InputPoint, but all the other plugins or even native SU tool will also respond to my refinement?

I am afraid that it is not an issue with InputPoint point. Because what I want to pick is native OpenGL objects, not SU entities.

NO. That is the purpose of a Ruby refinement. A Ruby class (or file) must specifically use the refinement.

The whole point is that it will not be “used” by the SketchUp core C code (native tools) or by other Ruby extensions.

And again, native SketchUp tools can not be modified by the APIs. But some of these tools can be “watched” by observers and respond to their actions.