Help needed on countersinking holes

I’m a total newb. to Sketchup and am creating my first project. I need to countersink two 3mm holes, I’ve been through all the tools and can’t find anything that can do it, surely it’s possible to do it.

Can anyone help me please.

Thanks Keith

Like this, for instance:

Anssi

Another approach that makes it easier to get the countersink drawn at the correct diameter and angle is to use Offset on the edge of the hole to define the limits of the countersink. The select the edge of the hole and use the Autofold function of the Move tool (Hold Alt) to move the edge down. Fortunately, for standard metric screws, the included angle on the head is 90°. That means you move the edge of the hole into the piece by the same distance as the offset.

From left:

3mm hole.
Offset 1.25mm and select the rim of the hole. Get the Move tool, hold Alt…
…Move the selected edge down 1.25mm

I did this at full size. Didn’t need to scale up at all. Anssi is correct, though, working at very small sizes could be an issue and scaling up can help to avoid problems.

1 Like

Thanks Anssi, yes, that’s what I want to do but what is your method to achieve it? I ask because although the solution DaveR does the job I would like to know as many methods as possible, I’m a learnaholic :smile:

Thanks Dave, that’s a nice solution. I knew someone would know of a method to do it.

I’m really grateful for your help and that from Anssi too. Forums work don’t they !

As a footnote: both Anssi’s and Dave’s methods make straightforward use of built-in tools. There are also plugins that create countersunk holes, but these examples show how it is often best to learn the built-ins before resorting to plugins!

Yes,I agree completely, it’s much better to learn the whole program rather parts of it. In fact I’m eager to learn it all, whether I’ll manage to or not is another matter.

1 Like

Gotcha,thank you