Extension Development Environment

Hello everyone,
I’m currently getting started with developing an extension. I’m new with Ruby, but I have a reasonable experience with other languages and tools.

I want to find out what others are using as a development environment for SU extensions as I find my current setup cumbersome compared to what I’m used to (JavaScript/TypeScript, nodeJS, .NET C#).

I currently use Visual Studio Code with a Ruby extension for code editing and I installed a SU extension so that I can attach to the SU process for debugging. This is fine but I find it very cumbersome that I have to reload SU each time I make a change to my files.

Also I do not see in any console any errors logged or some stack trace from a thrown exception when something does not work. And I’m having a bad time figuring it out why it does not work because I don’t get any error messages. I’m not sure if it fails silently and Ruby and/or SketchUp swallows exceptions.

What do you use and how do you usually work? How do you do debugging?

See if any of these hits offer any useful information.

Ruby is a dynamic coding language. You can change most any object dynamically at any time during Runtime. (Ie, you can redefine Modules, Classes, Methods, variable references, etc., any time. Think of Ruby code not as a file, but as being a big long string of text that is evaluated. This code text can be pasted into the console or loaded from a file.)

You may be trying to reload the file(s) using Kernel#require(). This method will only load a file once, then put it’s path into the $: (aka $LOADED_FEATURES ) array. Whenever this method runs, it will check the array and if the file has already been loaded, the method returns false without any action.

To force Ruby to reload a (unscrambled) file that was previously loaded, use Kernel#load() instead. This method does not check the $: array.