Editing Layout Files with the Ruby API

I am new to Ruby but have several years of professional experience developing in Python. I would like to write a script to insert a few pieces of information from a spreadsheet into a Layout template. How do I go about developing and, ultimately, executing such a script?

So far I have tinkered with the Ruby console within SketchUp and read through some of the example extensions. The piece of information I am having a hard time with is how to use the API without being in Layout. Old forum posts and some documentation refer to “third parties” being able to interact with Layout outside of SketchUp, but I am not seeing any documentation on what exactly that means.

Ultimately the goal is to be able to “sync” data from a Google Sheets spreadsheet without downloading the individual tabs as CSVs for file references

It is currently a file creation and access API which is (usually) used from a “live” SketchUp instance to read from the active model and write to a Layout::Document in memory. When the work is done, this document object is saved to a file path location.

You have the main LayOut API intro page:
File: LayOut Ruby API — SketchUp Ruby API Documentation
… but it’s “Things to Know” are not really listed in educational order.

Unfortunately, the SketchUp Team has not yet setup a repository of LayOut API examples.

One thing yet to be documented better is that entities get assigned default style properties when initially added to a document. This means that you should make any style changes after adding an entity to the document, otherwise your changes will be overridden.
There are also some other properties that are best adjusted after an entity belongs to a document. So the main “rule of thumb” should be add first, adjust afterward. This holds for both Ruby and C APIs.

“That” means they are using the LayOut C API.