Drape with radius possible in sketchup?

A bit of background: I’m a lightning protection designer and when working on projects we have to determine areas on the exterior of a building that fall under a zone of protection using NFPA-780, areas that don’t fall under a zone of protection will then require a lightning protection system installed on that area. To do this you have to imagine a 3d sphere with either a radius of 150’ (most common) or 100’ and roll it all over the building (also tangent to the ground) and, everywhere the sphere touches the building will then require lightning protection.
Would it be possible for someone to write an extension to do this in sketchup and have the areas where the sphere touches be a different color possibly using a sort of drape tool feature to do a quick analysis on a building?

My apologies if I have posted this in the wrong area.

Hi Matt,
To help you, we need to understand exactly what your goal is.
Being unfamiliar with NFPA-780, I couldn’t quite picture your description of the rolling ball method.

Does this Lightning Protection Guide by Underwriters Labs correctly describe what you’re after?
Here’s the link…
http://www.ul.com/global/documents/offerings/perspectives/regulators/publications/LightningProtection_AG.pdf

Thanks Geo

Yes, here are some youtube videos that may help explain it better as well.

1 Like

One thing here is for certain; I am not an extension developer.

Nonetheless, based upon what we’ve seen accomplished via extensions over the past few years, I would guess a talented developer may well be able build an extension to suit your needs; especially when they have in hand the parameters/formulas presented in the 2nd video.

The ‘blue tent’ depicted in the 1st video is the modified product of a Follow Me extrusion.
Your title is a bit off target as modeling the’ tent’ wouldn’t necessarily involve SketchUp’s Drape tool.

Hi mmalensek,

I just saw your message about that ‘drape’ as you call it.