Does my computer need updating?

Hey

I was wondering if someone can look at the spec of my computer & tell me if its adequate. I haven’t got a clue other than its running VERY slow on not that large models & even slower using Enscape. Not sure if its my computer or my models are the problem. I don’t think my models are complicated but I’m new to this so not sure.

Speak soon

Tracy

You need to give us more information about the computer you have, and upload one or two example models.

For example, what is the processor, how much main memory have you installed, what model of graphics card, and how much memory has that card.

Otherwise, no one can give you a meaningful answer.

It’s likely your graphic card. Even the higher ATI’s only have 1Gb memory. Ideally you get one with 4Gb memory or more in a GTX or RTX. Mine has 24Gb.

I take that back, I guess the newer 9800 does have 4Gb, but we don’t know which one you have.

1 Like

How old is your computer? The graphics card model seems to be at least 10 years old (you don’t tell the exact model number). If the computer is about the same vintage, upgrading it might not be very feasible. Upgrading the graphics card might lead to the need of a new, bigger power supply, etc.

Hi all…so ive googled how to find this info (sorry always had an i.t department to sort this stuff ) Ive inherited my computer as part of my redundancy package through work …I am not sure on its age…maybe 2014??? I really dont want to get a new one if I can avoid it as ill have to buy all my software again like autocad too.

Processor-Intel(R) Core™ i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz 3.40 GHz
Ram- 16.0 gb
system type-64-bit operating system, x64-based processor
Graphics card -NVIDIA Geforce GTX 1050 Ti (upto date) sorry not sure how to get the graphics card memory.
Do you need any more info?
should sketchup & enscape work ok with this? what would make it run better if not? Is it just the graphics card?

Speak soon
Tracy