Detect Reverse Faces?

Hello.
Is there a way to detect if the user has clicked Reverse Face?
I have 2 different materials for both front and back for each Face and i need to have the same material on both.
I tried doing that, but on Reverse Face is flipping the material.

front:
58%20AM

front after Reverse Faces:
02%20AM

I didn’t found anything relevant on Ruby API documentation.

It is not recorded whether the user has clicked Reverse Face from the context menu. However you can check the orientation of a face using Face#normal. You can compare this vector to some sort of reference vector (using dot multiplication, %) to see if the face is reversed or not. The problem is how to define the reference vector. What is your use case?

I have used this to check if I am looking at the front or back of a face

face.reverse! if face.normal.angle_between(Sketchup.active_model.active_view.camera.direction)<90.degrees;

I’m not a Ruby coder, so please forgive me if the represents a misunderstanding!

What happens to your test if the camera is inside a solid looking out?

It doesn’t take too much thinking to realize that face orientation is view dependent. If, as often seems to happen with glass for windows, parts of the model aren’t made 3D, face orientation can only be correct when viewing from one side but not the other.

If you are inside a solid looking out then you are probably looking at the back side of the face. Using face.material=‘some_texture’ is always going to put it on the front face regardless of which ‘side’ you picked.

Therein is a crucial aspect to answering the question: How have you determined that the user clicked a Face?

For example, is this test within one of the Tool’s button callbacks such as onLButtonDown and you used a PickHelper to identify the Face? Or are you finding the Face within the current selection? Or by some other means?