DC - built in closet (slanted wardrobe)

I am fairly new to SketchUp yet I already know how to work with dynamic components etc.my question now is if it is possible to turn the closet from the picture below into a dynamic component where it is possible to change the height on the left and right side together with the depth and length. First of all i want to know how to define the slated part of the closet together with the length of the supporting planks. My second question is, if it’s possible for the angles at the end of the supporting planks to move accordingly as the height on the lefthand side or the righthand side changes.

Greetings Peter

Probably.

The key is that, instead of single vertical boards with a mitered top, you’ll need to model them as vertical boards with square tops, then model the miters separately as extruded triangles. You can make the resulting boards appear as a single board by judicious hiding of edges and faces.

You’ll have a bunch of formulas involving trigonometry to determine the length of the boards and the angle of the top piece, and either the height of the triangular pieces representing the miters or the angle of the miters.

The one thing I’m worried about (and why I answered “probably”) is how to deal with the top diagonal board. It will have miters at both ends and - if you keep that subcomponent’s axis the same as the base model axis, keeping it’s thickness constant (or user determined through Component options) might be a problem. The alternative is to align the subcomponent axis with the edges of the (unmitered) board, but then you’ll have to experiment with X, Y, Z and RotY.

Were I to try to model it, I’d start with the model you appear to already have, model each pieces as a component (including the “miters” as separate triangular extrusions, set a scene as the front view, then send it over to layout so I could dimension it in terms of a few attributes (these are descriptions, not names!):

• Left Tall (Height)