Count the total number of faces in a model of a really complex model?

Hi guys! I need to count the total number of faces on the entire model of a very complex architectural model, With probably hundreds of groups and layers. I Have tried : looping though the model’s entities but the face count doesn’t seem to tally with the Model info-Statistics. I am very new to all of this, Can you guys help with a snippet? Thanks in advance.

if they are all groups and components, something like…

model = Sketchup.active_model
defs = model.definitions
list =[]
defs.each{|d|
            next if d.image?
            ins=[]
            d.instances.each{|i|ins << i}
            list << d.instances unless ins.empty?
          }
faces = []

list.each{|c| c[0].definition.entities.grep(Sketchup::Face).find_all{|e| faces << e } }

faces.length

john

@john_drivenupthewall, Thanks a lot man! One more question. Will it also take into account the faces that are not currenly in any groups? If not how can I get the total counts of all of them?

You maybe could do that too:

faces = 0
Sketchup.active_model.entities.each do |e|
  faces += 1 if e.is_a?(Sketchup::Face)
  if e.is_a?(Sketchup::ComponentInstance)
    e.definition.entities.each do |ent|
      faces += 1 if ent.is_a?(Sketchup::Face)
      faces += ent.definition.entities.grep(Sketchup::Face).size if ent.is_a?(Sketchup::ComponentInstance) || ent.is_a?(Sketchup::Group)
    end
  end
end
puts "Total faces:  #{faces}"

Without using any code [yes TIG did say that!]
Open Model Info > Statistics
Set the top drop-down to ‘Entire model’ and tick the adjacent check-box 'Show nested components'
The second item in the list shows the count of ALL Faces in the Model and in any component-instances/groups [even if they are nested].

The snippet seems to be failing when the enities are inside a group, any Idea why it returns 0?

Try changing the first if:

if e.is_a?(Sketchup::ComponentInstance)

to: