Could use some help with some stairs (Flextools)

Hello all, I have never built stairs before and have watched many tutorials and still cant really seem to make it work?

I have flex tools. I attached a quick screen shot of a space I want to put stairs in. The max width is 10’ 5 7/8" and the walls are 8’ high. I need my risers to be a max of 7.5" and the treads to be max 12".

I can have a landing of course if need be to make this work.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!!! :slight_smile:
Thank you guys!

Jay

To clarify, are you wanting help to use FlexTools to draw stairs? or are you asking for help to draw stairs in SketchUp… and you also happen to have FlexTools?

WOW!! I get help from Aaron! :slight_smile: I watch all your videos and you have helped me immensely!!! I have attached another screen shot as I have now changed where we want the stairs to be. I can also send a file if that helps??

Thank you sooo much!!!

Jay

A full explanation is potentially a long reply, but here are a quick few notes:

• 7 1/2" and 10" is absolute middle of the road stair ratio - not too steep, not too shallow.
  • You need the upper floor surface - I don’t see it in your example.
  • For L or switch back, I often make a throw away stair first to find a consistent riser height when using a plugin, or just some lines or guide lines if using native tools.
  • Make a landing and then lift it to the correct tread level as needed to work in plan
  • Then make the two runs of stair, floor to landing and landing to floor.

If you’re using FlexTools, you right click and select Dynamic Components>Component Options to get to the parametric fields, and then the Scale tool is used to adjust floor levels.

With FlexTools:

Sorry for the quick and dirty reply, but if it needs more explanation, just say so.

2 Likes

But you didn’t answer his questions!

3 Likes