Changing component options creates a new component

I’m just learning how to use dynamic components. Perhaps I’ve misunderstood how they should work, but I was under the impression that modifying the “Component Options” should be possible without SketchUp forking a new component. For example, I have a dynamic component with an attribute that controls its colour. If I make a duplicate of this component and change this option for one of them, SketchUp automatically creates a new component, so if I then make any changes to the underlying structure of one of these components, those changes aren’t reflected in the other.

Am I expecting too much of SketchUp or is there something I’m doing wrong? Ideally I want to be able to change an attribute via ‘Component Options’ (such as colour) but have the underlying components remain linked.

1 Like

That’s the way it is supposed to work with DC’s. With non-Dynamic Components edits to one instance of a component changes all other instances, too. With Dynamic Components you get separate definitions. That allows you to do things like have different sizes of the same window type in your model. If it didn’t separate them you couldn’t change the dimensions of one window without changing all of them.

Thanks Dave. So there’s no way to link the underlying structure of these components?

Specifically, what I’m trying to achieve is a system for designing a fruit orchard. Each tree has attributes relating to its total width, height and colour of fruit. I know that it’s possible, for example, to have two non-DCs be different sizes (using the scale tool), so I assumed the same logic applied to DCs.

Once I’ve designed the orchard I may want, for example, to slightly tweak the underlying appearance of each of the trees. From what you’re saying, it sounds as if this won’t be possible?

@pcmoor might give you more info but I think for what you are asking, it might make more sense to use non-DCs instead.