Best way to capture a 3d topo file for a lot?

Im new to sketchup and trying to design a property. Ive built a few structures to learn and still have a long way to go. But I am stuck on the actual plot of land I am designing. Its fairly sloped and I am wanting to start over with a base of building on the topography.

What is the best way to import an accurate data file based on the topography of the site being designed? I will need some data points to be editable to represent grading that will take place.

Any websites to export such data into a usable sketchup file?

In what format is your data file? It might be that you don’t need a website to convert the data for use in SketchUp.

I do not have a file yet. That is what I am seeking and wasnt sure of the best method to go about it or what file type is best to import into sketchup for compatibilty and the ebility to edit.

I am essentially looking to import a lidar generated topo map file.

Equatorstudio and the GIS sites have some ability to export a file. But not sure if I can export anything useful for my needs. ArcGIS doesnt seem to export files in the required file type.

I did see a tutorial on youtube of a fellow manually constructing his site topo but that seems tedious.

How are you going to generate the data? Are you engaging a surveyor? Generally data from open sources is not accurate enough to be used as a base for actual building operations. Surveyors can output their data in a form that can be utilized in SketchUp. The site data you get through the Geolocation function in SketchUp might be enough for rough sketches.

Ya I agree. I do see some online services that use lidar. Whether these are already available for my site or I’d need to hire someone with a drone with the capability which I wont be doing.

The site has been surveyed prior to being listed and doubt they generated a 3d file.