At the end of my rope!

Though I’m confident that this will do no good, I’m going to vent here anyway. I abandoned AutoCAD because I thought I could make SU and LO my go to tool for turning out architectural drawings. Here are just a couple of problems out of numerous, that I have been having and I see no end/ solution in site:

1. I am an architect and need to change the roof joists on a project that I am doing from 11 7/8" TJIs to 14" TJIs. I have been trying for about 14 hours so far to make that one change. I truly feeling like I am smashing my head against a brick wall with this program! I cannot make it do anything that I need it to do. I need the software to create faces - it hardly ever does. If I need to make any kind of change to a face that I fight for hours (literally) to create - forget it. It will not happen!

I still import 2D drawings from AutoCAD in my workflow. I know that SketchUp has an issue with any SketchUp file that has had an AutoCAD file inserted into it at any time - ever. SU blames these many problems on AutoCAD. That is a bunch of bull! SU, fix this issue now!!! One of those issues is that SU makes double, triple or quadruple faces when it will make a face. Another issue is that files “degrade”. I have a friend who is also an architect and uses SU. He totally agrees with me. For instance; I battled for over 8 hours yesterday to try and make this roof. The portions that I was finally able to make were crisscrossed with hidden lines when I opened the file today (not there yesterday). If I try to erase these lines it erases parts of the face! Also measurements change from exact to approximate!

I have accomplished absolutely nothing today on this project - nothing - all day. Meanwhile I have a client who needs there plans a.s.a.p.