[Hardware Advice] Updating a Dinosaur?

I am sorry if I didn’t post this in the correct place. I have a question for you guys.

I am running a Asus G73j model. Its graphics card is a “HD 5870 ATI card”. Has a quad core processor & 8GB of RAM & a SSD. I have been having issues with Sketchup running slow on commands when the model gets larger. Especially in the 3D mesh areas & commands. I have no experience with building computers but someone told me to get a new graphics card for it and that will help. Is that a good way to go? Or should I just get a new machine? Its 6 years old. But in great running order. I just dont know what to do here. :confused:

Thanks for any advice! Cody J

Here are the tecnical info:
Notebook: Asus G73J (G73 Series)
Processor: Intel Core i7 920XM
Graphics Adapter: ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5870
Display: 17.3 inch, 16:9, 1920x1080 pixels, glossy: yes

Here is PassMark’s comparitive charts for your card:
[url]PassMark - Mobility Radeon HD 5870 - Price performance comparison

And here is PassMark’s High-End list:
[url]http://www.videocardbenchmark.net/high_end_gpus.html[/url]
Your card is near the bottom with a score of 1175.

If you look at the main page, you’ll see there are 3 full charts below the one your card is on. So there are a whole lot of cards worse than yours. But that is not to say your could not do better:
[url]http://www.videocardbenchmark.net/[/url]

CPU cores mean nothing for SketchUp itself at this time it only uses 1 core. But multi-cores may help with other applications like external renderers, etc.

Increasing RAM usually always helps, especially if you run other large applications at the same time (MS Office etc.)

I’d take the price of more RAM and whichever video card you wish to upgrade to,… and compare that price against the cost of a newer system that already has that amount of RAM and video card.