"This does not appear to be a Sketch up model" after auto update

I am on a 7 day free trial of Sketch up Pro. I am learning to use the program for the first time and following tutorials. After saving my model I walked away for a short time. When I returned Sketch up had done an update which I thought was odd since I have only had it for a day. After restarting and attempting to open my file I got an error “This does not appear to be a sketch up model” I have uninstalled and reinstalled several times with no change. Please help, I realize I am new to the program but this is not a great start.

The Baker Lodge.skp (1.5 MB)

SketchUp Pro doesn’t do automatic updates. Where were you saving the file as you were working on it? Unfortunately the file you shared appears to be mostly zeros. Do you have the .skb backup file? Can you share that?

That’s strange, sketchup doesn’t update automatically, it tells you that there is an update available and it requires to close the program to be able to install it, it doesn’t open automatically after an update.
Is the file saved on an external device or a cloud platform?

I was saving the file to an ssd drive within my computer. Unfortunately I couldn’t find any .skb files apparently they were not created. I found the folder where they should be and it was empty. When I returned after stepping away there was a pop up saying something to the effect of sketch up is updating and I clicked yes, I didn’t think to not follow a request to update.