Solid Group status changes

I have created an object that returns “Solid Group” in Enity Info.
If the file is saved, then another drawing is opened, if I reopen the original drawing, the Enity Info now reports “Group” not solid group. The same thing happens if I close SketchUp and reopen it.
The Solid Group status can be restored by:
Edit Group
Explode
Solid Inspector
Make Group

Since I’m new to SketchUp and just don’t understand why some groups don’t print on my DiVinci XYZ, issues like this may or may not be contributing.
I would really like to know why the design is no longer considered Solid.
My operating system is Windows 7.
SketchUp is version 14.1.1282, not the pro version

Perhaps there are conflicts in your model and the checkbox for correct them automatically is checked in the preferences.

I have run Solid Inspector, Cleanup3 and Label Open Faces and no errors are reported. But I am new to this so there might be something else I should check. I am getting the Solid Group status.

In preferences, Automatically fix problems when they are found was not checked. That is now set and the problem still exists.

I just found that if you leave the Entity Info window open, and select Edit Group, the Solid Group status returns after selecting the object.

Is it a model you are allowed to share?

baseTest5b.skp (52.4 KB)

My mistake, baseTest5b does not have that problem. I’m adding 5d that does have the problem.

baseTest5d.skp (48.3 KB)

Your highest level group has the same geometry grouped again inside, as a nested group.
In other words: the solid group is wrapped in a new group which can’t be solid.

A solid can only have basic geometry inside.

p.s. work with only white (front) faces on the outside of the shape that is going to be grouped to get a solid.

Wo3Dan, thanks for your reply, but it’s over my head. How did you detect the nested group?

I did try to set all the outside surfaces white but that did not tell me anything new.