SketchUp YouTube Channel Is Blocking My Comments

I tried to participate in the live stream today and my comments were muted. I know this because I tried to say hello to my good friend Nathan Wilkerson and also give input on roof terminology to no avail.

Can any SketchUp employees comment on this? I have been using SketchUp for 19 years. I have been designing and building for 45 years. If my input is not welcome, fine but muting me from live streams is silly and unprofessional.

Hi @anon13243925 - I’m an admin and was there and didn’t see you at all. I’ll do some digging and check with other moderators as perhaps there was some setting that needs to be reset.

Weird. Maybe it’s YouTube that’s doing it, not SketchUp folks? I’ve mostly used the YouTube feed, but one experiment might be to use another platform like the LinkedIn feed instead and see if it’s a problem there.

I think there may have been something odd going on today. A few times Aaron quoted someone, and I didn’t see any comment from that person.

Thanks

Were you logged in with a user name registered with YT? If you don’t, YT does not allow comments.

Yes, I have been on YouTube for 17 years and know how to operate :slight_smile: You guys are asking the wrong questions. You need to be asking SketchUp why their employees are muting people on the live streams. Why do people always glaze over the real issue?

Colin and Eric are from sketchup team.

1 Like

In my experience, mods on many sites tend to “err on the side of caution”. If they (mis)construe something you write as being in any way contentious they take no chances and delete and ban.

Then there are those sites and mods who mute/block/ban after receiving lots of complaints, but without bothering to check whether those complaints are at all justified.