SketchUp Raster Elevations into Autocad or Bricscad

Hi, I’m an Architect and have been using SketchUp since Version 2. It is very important to my practice.

My construction documents are done in Bricscad (a very good Autocad clone), all in 2D so no BIM or anything like that. But 3D modeling for almost every job is done in SketchUp.

I use raster images exported from SketchUp as elevations in my CAD program. Generally they look better than elevations drawn with vectors (assuming resolution is sufficient) and I can get material colors, shadows, etc. from SketchUp.

I have a system that works well enough but is somewhat cumbersome, and I wonder if there might be a better way (not Layout – that does not have the CAD functionality I need). I’m thinking of a plug-in to Bricscad or Autocad that might work the way you can import a scene into Layout and have it hot-linked to the Sketchup file. Does anyone know if that can be done or has been done?

For reference, here is how I do my elevations now:

• Create the SketchUp model in sufficient detail with materials, etc.
  • Have the model on a terrain base that is a solid (it has the terrain top, flat sides, and a flat bottom) so that when it is cut in section the section fill will fill it in.
  • Starting with the widest side of the model, create a section cut through the base looking at the side of the building. Then select a face on that side and Align View. Then change to Parallel Projection view.
  • That leaves me with an elevation view of the building. Pan and zoom so that it almost fills the screen. Save that as a scene after getting shadows, etc. correct.
  • For the next elevation, don’t zoom – only pan and rotate view. That way the scale of the next view will be the same as the first one.
  • Rotate out so that the next side can be seen, create a new section, align face, etc. Save as scene.