Q regarding what is/isnt exposed to the API

Are the individual setting for materials programmable through the API?
I was looking at the Elgato Streamdeck+ (Stream Deck + | Elgato) and It got me thinking how nice it would be to be able to adjust the selected material’s setting via the dials, specifically I’d like to be able to:

• Change the mode between RGB and HLS (a press of one of the dials)
  • Change the value of R,G,B,A or H,L,S,A (rotate the dials)
  • Scale the Texture (press to toggle between A and Texture and rotate the dial)

All my work is rendered so being able to quickly and easily ‘play’ with colours and instantly see the results would be if nothing else a lot of fun.

This is of course all moot if the values are inaccessible via the API, so the question is, are they?

Edit:
I’ve been using SU since 2004 and I’ve only just noticed that the Picker dropdown states HLS but the order of the individual sliders is HSL!

It is supposed to be HSL.

Yes Material and Texture settings are exposed to the API.

However, the GUI interface is a user interface not an API interface. It does not make sense to directly “flip a switch” in the GUI, or “spin a dial” from the API. This is not what the API is for

Instead the API setter methods directly set a color value to what is intended in one step. There is no need to step through a bunch of intermediate color values to get to the value needed.

The current GUI interface does this for the SketchUp view. But SketchUp’s API will not effect external renderings in say V-Ray. The V-Ray (or whatever renderer) interface would need to do this.

I use Enscaple which is a real-time renderer and I can dynamically change the SU material properties and see it instantly in the render window.
Other material properties such as roughness/bump etc are controlled through the Enscape materials dialog but once set for a particular material type I rarely change them.