Play a sound in Sketchup

Hi. I just wanted to ask if anyone could help me regarding this sketchup UI module. im new to this programming so please bare with my technical difficulties.

I am trying to play a sound in Skethup. when i enter the code in ruby console, it returns nil.
here is my code:

UI.play_sound (“Plugins/polaroid.wav”)

I have already put a polaroid.wav file in my plugin directory of Sketchup but it still dont play a sound.

I could not figure out why.

You need to pass the full file-path to the method.
e.g. UI.play_sound(File.join(Sketchup.find_support_file(‘Plugins’), ‘polaroid.wav’))

Rather than having various files ‘lose’ in the Plugins folder I recommend that you make a subfolder for your extension which contains any files it needs, you can then add that into the file-path…
Also you could check the file exists before trying to play it.

1 Like

Also please use a more descriptive topic caption. “Sketchup Ruby API” is far too vague.

2 Likes

Moved to the right category and… edited now … :blush:

1 Like

I try this code in Ruby Console:

soundpath = File.join(Sketchup.find_support_file(‘Plugins’, ‘polaroid.wav’))
UI.messagebox(soundpath)
UI.play_sound(soundpath)

it still dont play a sound. but return the attached pic.
Im sorry, I not good on this. My first time trying to learn.

11asd
12asdfg

You didn’t form the soundpath as I suggested.
Find the Plugins folder then use the File tools to add the wav file onto it so you then have a valid file-path.
The way it is now you’re trying to pass 2 arguments to find_support_file - it only expects 1, so the wav file part is ignored !

12aqsw

I still don’t know where I got wrong this time. The sound wont play. Or don’t I follow the right procedure again?

UI.play_sound(File.join(Sketchup.find_support_file(‘Plugins’), ‘james’, ‘polaroid.wav’))
You can’t mess with the find_support_file’s path.
Find it then add the subfolder and wav name and it should work…