Penguin Donkeys and Eames Chairs

An old sketch.

5 Likes

Prior to @DaveR’s post, I had never heard of a Penguin Donkey, but it got me started reading about them and I was thus inspired to create a model of the original version (shown here):

By adding a little thickness where needed, I was also able to get it acceptable for 3D printing at 1/10th scale. At this size, I think it would make an interesting conversion piece to hold your business cards. Here it is in red plastic:

1 Like

Wow! That turned out great! I think that’s a good idea, too, Jim.

A few years ago I did a 3D print from the SketchUp model I made of the MkII. It’s being used to hold some cards.

1 Like

In case anyone was wondering why the shelves are called Penguin Donkeys:

Best,
dh

Hey, although I am a newbie at sketchup, I would love to learn how to model something like this.

Would any of you be able to walk me through how to build this? Also the name Penguin Donkey got my attention and I’m pretty interested lol.

Let me know, you guys make great stuff!

There’s not much to modeling the MkII Penguin Donkey. The MkI is a little more involved but not much. Since you’re new to using SketchUp, start with the basic videos available at sketchup.com and then maybe have a look at this.

Yeah I don’t think I would struggle with the MKII, however @jimhami42 's sketch looks a little more in depth and I tend to struggle more with curved edges.

Practice, practice, practice.

Exactly! Unfortunately what I use sketchup for in work is very limited and I only rely on certain tools. I would like a project that would help expand my knowledge and introduce me to more techniques. Most of the tutorials I find are pretty basic.

So find something with curves to model. Start with something you can get your hands on so you can take measurements from it. That way you can concentrate on learning to use the tools.

Very good point. Thank you. I will hopefully have something soon to show.