Novice modeling wooden train track

I am a novice who has watched the excellent Intro videos. For my first project, I am trying to model the various pieces of wooden train track (generic for “Thomas”) that I have so my grandsons and I can do a full design of the new layout that they want.

I have been successful in measuring the actual dimensions of the various pieces and creating straight sections that match the real one closely. I first created a 2 D cross section of the track, drew a line perpendicular to it from one edge, and then used FollowMe to extrude the cross section the length of the line. It turned out exactly as I wanted. I was also able to create the interlocking tab and cutouts and combine the sections to form components of the various straight parts. So far, so good with only a little time invested. I very much appreciate the power of SketchUp Make.

My problem is in trying to create curved parts. The real parts have ends that are at 45 degrees to each other, so 8 pieces form a complete circle. I have been able to create the outline of the curve in 2D perpendicular to the cross section, but when I try to do the FollowMe, the ends do not come to 45 degrees. I believe because the cross section is pulled at a right angle with the line to be followed, so regardless of whether you use the centerline arc, the inside arc, or the outside arc, the “face” of the end is skewed to the desired line.

The lines of the “pie section” form a 45 degree angle ending at the outer arc. The two ends are not lined up with the 45 degree lines.
This would be okay if I could trim off the excess, but everything that I have tried leaves a “hollow” end.
Any suggestions of a better way to approach this would be greatly appreciated.
TW_3_Inch_Curve.skp (104.3 KB)
Respectfully,
Tom

Try using the mid-points of the sides:

2 Likes