New to SketchUp for 3D printing, only experience Tinkercad

Hi all,

I’m a first-time poster and happy to see such an active forum!

To keep it short, I’m a hobbyist woodworker/designer/maker just getting into SketchUp, and would love to be able use the software for creating/modifying models.

My only experience designing for 3D printing has been in Tinkercad. Any advice for moving from that workflow into SketchUp?

I’m using the free (web) version of the software on the web though I’m probably going end up upgrading to the pro version to use on my Mac and have access to the extension library.

Is it worth trying to print from the free version, or will I just get frustrated without the solid tools? Are there any necessary extensions to get once I get the pro subscription?

Thanks!
Reid

First, don’t try to make SketchUp work like TinkerCAD. They have different workflows. Typically people get frustrated when they try to force one tool to work like the one they already know. Spend some time going through the instructional materials at learn.sketchup.com. Also look at the Square One video collection on the SketchUp You Tube channel.

Second, SketchUp is a face modeler and it represents arcs and circles as collections of short edge segments and curved surfaces as small faces. That’s generally not a problem but you need to understand that’s the way it works.

Third, SketchUp is primarliy intended for architectural modeling. It has a small face limit. For 3D printing I find it better to model with units set to meters and treat millimeters as meters. It doesn’t matter as far as exported .stl files go but it helps prevent issues with tiny faces.