New to Layout and find I can't delete part of a line in a drawing

Hi there

I have a very basic problem. I am trying to create a simple 2D elevation in Layout but I find that I cannot delete parts of lines as I can in SketchUp usually ie a line is drawn, another line meets it at a perpendicular angle and I want to delete the bottom part of the original line. I can’t seem to do this as I end up deleting the whole lot. I have tried ungrouping but this does not work… HELP would be HUGELY appreciated!

Most likely you need to use the Split tool to split out that line from the rest. Look for the knife blade icon on the toolbar.
tb_split_200x200

While you can draw it in LayOut, I think you would be better off to draw the elevation in SketchUp. Create a scene showing the elevation and save the file. Then send to LayOut to create the document.

Thanks so much DaveR. I am new to the whole of SketchUp and want to be able to produce great 2D drawings initially and then move on to 3D. I was under the impression that Layout was a better way of drawing 2D - especially as allows user to scale properly and export and print etc. Do you think this is not the case? Better to make drawings in SketchUp in Top View and Parallel projection and then send to layout?

Yup, for sure.

While you can do 2D drawing in LayOut and the Scaled Drawing tool makes that easier, LayOut is really intended to be the tool for creating presentations and documents from your SketchUp models and other assets. The best route would be to make the model in SketchUp and send it to LayOut.

I would also suggest you are wasting your time starting out drawing in 2D since you plan to then go to 3D. Instead, start out making your 3D model in SketchUp. After you’ve got it modeled in 3D you can make your 2D elevations and whatever other views you need.