Matrix Standard Library

The Matrix class in Ruby is not part of the Core but it is part of the Std-lib (Standard Library). Has anyone tried using a standard library class like this in their plugins? I’ve never tried this before so I’m kind of flying blind.

Poking around in the the SketchUp Program Files folder it appears that the RubyStdLib folder contains all of the standard library classes. Is there any particular way that these files should be loaded or included?

If I was to load the matrix.rb file I would need to specify the path which would be OS dependent and SU version dependent, for example on Windows:

C:\Program Files\SketchUp\SketchUp 2017\Tools\RubyStdLib

what would this be on a Mac?

Yes use the Ruby core global require.

SketchUp distro’d extensions use the standard JSON library by requiring it (which means it’s already loaded by the time your extension begins loading.)

No you would not. It is already in the $LOAD_PATH array.

Just do …

require 'matrix'
1 Like

Thank-you Dan, your help is sometimes the only thing that keeps me going.

I’m a little confused with require vs. include. For the Math class I use include but for the Matrix class I use require.

Also I’m no Ruby expert as many of you know but I am slowing learning the ins and outs of the language.

I’m looking at the documentation for the Matrix class here:

And then I found this website with a number of methods (that work within this class) but don’t seem to be documented in the official ruby docs.

Should I use these methods? They do seem to work. For example the lup() function.

Also there exists two classes within the Matrix class:

Matrix::LUPDecomposition
Matrix::EigenvalueDecomposition

How would one instantiate them?

require exists in Kernel, and it loads a source code file by loadiing the first file with the given name in $LOAD_PATH. With ‘normal’ Ruby, RubyGems monkey-patches the method to allow RubyGems to load installed gems.