Many errors detected by 3d printing software when trying to 3d print SketchUp shapes

Needless to say I’m new to SketchUp. I made the wine glass from the Followme tutorial video and another shape of my own. I sent them to be 3d printed and their software showed many errors in the shapes. Is there something special I need to do to make my shapes 3d printable? The tutorials didn’t mention anything.

If anyone can help, I would greatly appreciate it.

You would probably be best off sharing the model. Can you post your .SKP file for us to take a look at?

Wine Glass_1 partially healed.skp (1.6 MB)
Mjolnir_solidX with text.skp (2.5 MB)

The wine glass faces are reversed and the bottom has no face so it’s no wonder it won’t print.

Correct the face orientation so the white front faces are out and heal the bottom by tracing an edge segment. Do those things and make it a component. It’ll show as “solid” and should be 3D printable.

“Thor’s Hammer” is more involved.
You cannot have separate groups - like the text - that geometry needs to be merged with the rest, the intersections formed and internal faces erased.
The ‘handle’ also has reversed faces…
These are easily fixable and when grouped it reports ‘solid’.

I reversed faces but my wine glass looks like this:

What did I do wrong? Thanks for helping me. I greatly appreciate it.

You still haven’t filled in the bottom.

As Dave says…
Draw a line over an edge of the base and it will form a face.
Select everything and group it - it should show ‘solid’ in ‘entity info’…

I healed the bottom and selected the entire wine glass shape and grouped it but it doesn’t show as solid.

I suggest you get ThomThom’s Solid Inspector 2 and use it to check your work. It’s impossible to tell from the image what you might have gotten wrong.

At a guess, I would say you have included the dimensions in the group, remove them and it probably will be a solid.

1 Like