Macbook pro 13¨

Hey guys i was wondering if y’all can help me with some decisions regarding the purchase of my new computer…

I usually work with SketchUp (3D modeling), AutoCad (Plans) and Photoshop for image editing… im planning to buy the base model of the new macbook pro 13¨

2.0GHz dual-core Intel Core i5 processor, Turbo Boost up to 3.1GHz
8GB 1866MHz memory
256GB PCIe-based SSD
Intel Iris Graphics 540

But i don’t know if i should upgrade the Processor or The RAM…

2.4GHz dual-core Intel Core i7 processor, Turbo Boost up to 3.4GHz

or

16GB 1866MHz memory

ill be able to just upgrade one of them since this macbook is very expensive…

With upgrade should work fine with ketchup AutoCad and photoshop? (Im an architecture student)

The performance related articles talk about CPU and RAM affecting performance, but it’s not easy to tell how much effect each one has. You have SSD, so disk access is going to be very good, which might mean that having more RAM isn’t as important. But, 2.4 is only 20% more than 2.0, whereas 16 is twice 8!

You will also read that the minimum CPU speed given is 2.1 GHz, which would argue that 2.0 GHz isn’t good enough. I’m skeptical about that making much difference.

Of the two I think the extra RAM could be more useful with big models. But, others here are more experienced in using different hardware with SketchUp, so wait a bit to see what other comments are posted.

If an user keeps other open applications at a minimum, SketchUp will probably use the TurboBoost mode of supported Intel processors. Sketchup 2017 runs quite OK with my Asus ultrabook that has an i7 processor with a nominal speed of 1.9 GHz.

Anssi

I would choose doubling the RAM to 16GB as much more helpful for performance, compared to increasing the CPU clock rate by a modest amount. (In fact I would choose doubling the memory over increasing the clock rate by a major amount!) The more memory the better.